Youer than You

“Every one of you are unique, there is no one else like you…” the pastor said. As he went on, Dr Seuss’s quote popped in my head, “Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.” It seems so simple, but yet most people struggle with finding their uniqueness or just accepting their uniqueness. Every one of us has God given talents but if I ask you what yours are, would you know? If you know what your God given talents are, do you use them for the greater purpose? I started asking myself these questions. I felt awkward answering. I felt arrogant even though I was having the conversation in my mind. Why is it that I feel like that? How am I suppose to live the life God intends me to if I am not confident in what he has given me? Why am I not using most of my talents for the greater purpose? I have no excuse.

Years ago, I was at work and a patient’s family member looked at me and said, “You’re a Christian, aren’t you?” I smiled and replied yes. What she said next was the best compliment I have ever received. She said, “I can see God’s light shining through you.” I teared up, softly thanked her, and thought about it the remainder of my shift. Back then I struggled with my christianity. I had my days like that one where I let my guard down but mostly I fought it. I could go through the psychology of why but I don’t feel like it matters. At least not today. Maybe that will be another blog post. My point is––I want that light shining through me every single day. I want to live my life with purpose every single day. I want, no matter how crazy my life is, to be confident with my christianity every single day. I want to use my God given talents every single day. Yes, every single day.

So what are my God given talents? The other day I had two people point out how patient I am. I never thought much of it but yes I am very patient. I am a kind empathetic person. I sacrifice when people need me. But I feel there is more in me than that. I wish I could receive a phone call or an email from God. He would say, “Stacy, you are good at….you need to do this… and stop trying to do this….do this instead.” Someone I know actually just said how it take three times of God showing her something before she realizes it. She could not have said it better. I need to open my eyes to what God is showing me. Once I can achieve that, I will be one step closer.

Leave a Reply

