My Grandma Scott

Two things come to mind when I think of my Grandma Scott––God and church. She truly walked the walk and did not need words to show others what God meant to her. Everyone just knew she was a godly woman.

I am still processing all of this. My Grandma Scott passed away yesterday and it is a lot to take in. My mom is in the hospital and hoping to get discharged today so her and my dad can make it up here in the next couple of days. I am heavy hearted for many reasons. It was unexpected and so it is hard to fully grasp. I think about my dad being so far away. I think about my aunt and cousin who worked with her and the heartache they are experiencing. I think about the rest of my family and how she touched everyone’s life differently. Then of course, there is my own grief. I am reminded of my other grandma who I was extremely close to and my great grandmas who have also passed. All my grandmothers are now gone and each of them shaped me in some way.

Without her knowing, my Grandma Scott saved me from completely losing my faith. I went through a period where I stopped going to church. It is hard to put all of this into words, but I will try. There are other things that helped bring me back as well, but having a foundation of christians in my family was the reminder I needed during those years. I just cannot imagine how my life could have turned out. I believe she was the foundation for the entire family. She was the rock without even knowing it. I never even told her what she did for me.

Walking into my grandma’s house, there was always peace and comfort. The presence of God was always felt there. When I needed it the most, when my faith had faltered, I would go there for family gatherings and I felt God. I remember leaving her house feeling empty––because I knew I was being stupid by not following what was in my heart and by not going to church. I was reminded every time I left their house that I knew better.

My grandma never said anything to me about my life, she didn’t have to. God spoke through her actions and through her lifestyle. I thank God for her quiet strength because He knows I wouldn’t have listened if she tried to talk to me…I was too stubborn.

I know my grandma is in heaven and I will see her again one day. I will thank her for showing me what it means to be a godly woman. I hope and pray that one day I can have the same quiet strength as her.

Leave a Reply

