Broken Glasses

I noticed Luke’s glasses were not on his face as he crossed the street.  He stopped in front of me and raised his hand where his broken glasses lay.  I felt the pain as I looked in his eyes and he told me, “My friend broke them on the bus.”  I looked up as the bus pulled away.  I tried to motion for the bus to stop but it was too late.

I was a bit perturbed that the driver did not take the time to tell me of the incident and I knew getting a story out of an upset Luke would not be easy. For someone with such low vision like Luke, his glasses are truly a part of his body.  So to have someone break them is the equivalent of getting a black eye from someone. He was sad and mad at the situation.  Long story short, I kind of got the story of what happened and have also spoken to the school. I am not happy about it and I am not happy about how kids behave on the bus.  They were rough housing and his friend took it too far.

What I am happy about is how Luke has handled it since.  Luke decided after the incident that he no longer wants to sit with this kid.  I so admire him for making this decision on his own.  I know how hard it can be to make a decision such as this.  Luke told me he doesn’t like how they play mean and doesn’t want to be friends with him.  The more I think about it, the more proud I become.  In life, you must choose your friends wisely.  Sometimes it isn’t just about how a friend treats you.  It is also about how you feel and how you act around a person.

2 thoughts on “Broken Glasses

Leave a Reply

