Dirty Little Feet

IMG_5905

Bathtime. I can’t say I dread or despise it.  It is more of a “going through the motions” time for me. There are always things I’d rather be doing or things that I feel are more productive.  My oldest is pretty independent in the bath. My three year old, of course, is not.  I am forced to stop what I am doing to sit in there with him.  I should look forward to the downtime but I do not. Maybe it is because I’d rather spend my downtime reading with him––instead of washing his dirty feet.  Don’t get me wrong, his dirty feet are adorable, but you know…who looks forward to washing feet?

As I was thinking this it struck me that when it comes to my kids I (sometimes) lose my servant heart. I could rationalize this by saying it is just washing feet.  But when I think of the significance of Jesus washing his disciples’ feet and the purpose of him doing so, it puts things into perspective. Mostly, I put all I have when it comes to serving in my church, even with the little things. When I worked I did the same. But when it comes to certain things with my kids, I simply do not.

I know I cannot joyfully do everything in life.  I cannot be perfect in parenthood. I need to show myself grace. I know I am a good mom. At the same time though, I need to point out things I can improve on. That is all a part of growing and striving to always become a better person…a better mom. So, next time I wash his dirty little feet, I will think of all the steps and jumps they have made through the day.  All those step and jumps are a part of his journey. I will think of what a gift it is to have dirty little feet to wash.  I will thank God for giving me the responsibility of taking care of dirty feet and everything else I take for granted as a parent.

God gave me and my husband two amazing boys to raise up to be men of God.  We need to show them, even through the little things, how important it is to serve others.

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.

~John 13:12-15

2 thoughts on “Dirty Little Feet

Leave a Reply

