Run the Race

I’ve been drained and a bit recluse as of late.  I can go through the list of reasons why, but it doesn’t matter to most of you anyway. We all have things weighing us down and we all have mornings where our bed seems more appealing than the pew.  Add to it that my kids were at Matt’s parents overnight.  How often do I get to be lazy in the morning?  So, yeah, I almost stayed in bed instead of going to church. Anytime I feel this way a voice tells me to push through it…guilt creeps up and I feel a pit in my gut.

I forcefully got myself looking presentable in about twenty minutes and rushed out the door. Because it truly never fails that it ends up being a message my little ears needed to hear. I think Satan plans it that way.  He must sprinkle laziness dust over us in our sleep when he knows a message is going to move us.

Pastor spoke about our cloud of witnesses. I glanced at the cross. I pictured my grandmas and great-grandmas standing at the the foot of the cross yelling their own words of wisdom to me. Yes, I know I have quite the imagination. I especially focused in on my grandma Scott.  She was telling me to keep going.  It is like I could see her face and hear her voice.

Let go of it all.  Don’t let the weight of this world slow you down.  

She had such a quiet strength about her.  Her head was always held high and always looking toward the cross. I think of things in her life and how she handled them. I think of things going on right now and wonder how she would handle them.  With grace, faith, and a little bit of style…that is how she would handle things. I can see her throwing off all the things of life that hindered her (except for whatever piece of jewelry went with her outfit) and she would walk…not run…because I don’t think I ever saw her run. She would never stop walking the race.

We should never stop running the race (or walking if your not athletic). We just need to keep going . We need to keep our eyes on the prize, not on this crazy world.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,  fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

-Hebrew 12:1-3

2 thoughts on “Run the Race

  1. This is so true. Often when I have felt like not going to church because of tiredness but have gone the word is always on point for me. The scene new I’d the enemy to keep us from hearing a Now word. Well done to you for pushing through. X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

